NaBloPoMo Day 1…2 really: chemo caps

So yesterday I looked at the calendar and thought, “Hey! It’s November! I want to do NaBloPoMo!” Then I thought about what I wanted to write about on the first day and took a picture of Niels in the hat I just finished. Some how, none of that happened yesterday so I am going to start today instead, with the picture of Niels in the hat.

Look, here it is.

crown for tyrion

It’s not for him but I think he needs one. It’s my friend Kate’s pattern “A Crown for Tyrion” which I don’t think she has released yet.  You should totally buy it from her when she does, though. I enjoyed knitting it and I think it looks great on Niels. (My hair is too poofy for most hats. I hate the way it looks when I have a hat on and then taking it off causes even more problems.) This hat, though, is going to be donated to Breast Cancer Connections in memory of Trisha Creekmore. Trish and I worked together at the Discovery Channel. She was pregnant with her first daughter and I was the HTML developer on the project so I posted her pregnancy journaling posts. She was an amazing spirit and a good writer and the world is an emptier place without her in it. Since I can’t go to her memorial (it’s on the east coast) I am knitting chemo caps. I have another ball of the yarn I used for that hat which I think I am going to use to make a Shedir. If you are local to me and would like to knit a hat or two for me to donate, let me know. I know at least one other person is doing it with me.

So that is my first NaBloPoMo post for 2012. Hopefully I won’t miss too many more days. I am going to try to have a photo for each day again. Maybe. I’m not making any promises.

4 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo Day 1…2 really: chemo caps

  1. That’s a great gift, Abigail. Cancer sucks (my dad and aunt have it; my grandparents didn’t survive it), but keeping alive the kind and happy memories of friends and family is a great cause.

    1. It really does suck. This is the third friend I’ve lose to cancer in the past three years. Sorry to hear about your family members. I hope your aunt and dad can beat it!

    1. Now that I look at the pattern, I think I see the problem. The yarn you are using is much lighter weight than the one in that pattern. It’s also very stretchy which can make measuring gauge more difficult. Sorry it didn’t work out, mom!

Leave a Reply

