giant backward knitting

I'm working on a baby blanket for a friend of mine on size 17 needles with very chunky yarn, two stitches to the inch chunky. I think it's the biggest yarn I've ever knit. I'm not even sure why I bought size 17 needles in the first place and I don't think I've knit anything else on them. It's a very strange feeling. I think I know how kids feel when learning to knit on size 10s or so.

The good thing, other than how fast it goes, is that the project was cumbersome to turn around so I used it as an opportunity to teach myself to knit backwards. I also decided to make a little video of myself doing so and post it here for your benefit. It's hard to be your own cameraperson. I will probably try to get a better video later, when Erik isn't deeply entrenched in fighting WWII online. (Don't ask.)

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 thoughts on “giant backward knitting

  1. I love knitting backwards. I've always called it purling on the wrong side, but I suppose knitting backwards is the correct name for it. šŸ˜€ It makes projects with short row shaping or entrelac so much easier. And I dislike purling with a fiery passion, so even though my knitting backwards is a little slower than purling normally I enjoy it more. Great video!

  2. When doing large fields of Stockinette I usually do combination knitting partially because I don't like traditional purling and partially because it keeps my gauge more even between the knit and purl rows. I might be tempted to switch to this! I've never tried it for short rows either, that's a good idea.I'm glad you liked it!

Leave a Reply

