socks

Here are a couple pictures of my first mosaic sock complete with afterthought heel. It's not great, honestly, but it will do. This project is dragging on way too long for a simple pair of socks. My dad raves about how much he loves the design whenever he sees them, though, so I think they will be worth it in the end. Also, he tried on the one completed one and said that it felt really good. It looks sort of Dr. Seuss-ish on my foot because my dad's foot is longer.

on the footmosaic sock with afterthought heel

I've made quite a bit of progress on Baudelaire also. I think it's turning out really well. This is in the Panda Cotton which is bamboo/cotton/elastic. It feels so good on my feet! It's not very warm, like Fixation tends to be but is nicely stretchy. Other than being splitty, I think it is my new favorite sock yarn. Once this pair is done I might have to go back to Purlescence and get some more!

beginning of baudelairebeginning of the leg started

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

9 thoughts on “socks

  1. I know the question wasn't asked of me, but if you're interested in learning how to knit, I'd recommend KnittingHelp.com. She has video tutorials of all kinds of things to get you started and also some more advanced techniques. Most books, from my experience, tend to have hard to understand diagrams, so even with text explaining what's going on, it can be a little difficult to figure out exactly what to do which can be very discouraging for a beginner. 🙂

  2. I like the Stitch n Bitch book because the writing style is fun and the diagrams are pretty good. The patterns are also accessible and cute but not always sized large enough for me personally.

  3. Thanks, E. I like the way they are turning out too.The only downside to Panda Cotton is that you only get one sock per ball and it doesn't even seem to be that large of a sock. I wasn't able to do all the pattern repeats on the leg of Baudelaire. Good thing they're toe-up!

Leave a Reply

